Over the years, many social media accounts have accumulated on the web. Many are no longer in use, but often contain extensive collections of personal data. Depending on the provider, you can save them as an archive and then delete your account.
In our guide, we give tips on how to find user accounts you thought were lost, and show how to delete your accounts via browser: we include Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Last.FM (oldies music network) as examples.
Many social networking providers are reluctant to lose users because they make money from their data. The account deletion feature is often hidden deep in the settings. We’ll show you where to look.
Therefore, you should delete unused accounts
Account opening is quick and essential for many purchases and services. But should you leave all accounts there? It is generally advised to search for old recordings. Not only are social media accounts dangerous, to which you’ve opened up half your life, but so are stores: the little store where you bought a cult T-shirt and never was active again, but which still holds your payment details to this day knows. Or the long-forgotten streaming service that your Paypal account is still stored with today.
Even large platform providers are not completely immune from server leaks and data theft. And the more user accounts you have online, the greater the chances of personal data and sensitive passwords falling into the hands of criminals.
In older networks and online services in particular, which no longer generate as much user interest, there is a risk that their servers and access are no longer optimally protected and maintained. With this stolen data, forms of online fraud such as identity theft and phishing are possible.