Ecuador joins Panama, Costa Rica and the Democratic Republic of the Congo in the Alliance for Development in Democracy

Santo Domingo, d.

Panama presidents Laurentino Cortizo Cohen. from Costa Rica, Rodrigo Chaves; from the Dominican Republic, Luis Abenader; As the founding countries of the Alliance for Development in Democracy (ADD), We welcome Guillermo Laso, President of Ecuador, to join this regional groupin the context of the Ninth Summit of the Americas, being held in Los Angeles, United States.

The government mentioned this through a press release in which it referred to it Ecuador is the fourth country Which is part of this initiative for political dialogue, cooperation and trade promotion for sustainable development, based on commitment to democratic institutions and respect for human rights and the rule of law.

In its founding declaration, the Alliance for Democratic Development committed itself to managing concrete actions under five axes: regional leadership, immigration and asylum; environmental sustainability and climate change; Security, justice and anti-corruption. economic growth and social employment opportunities.

The alliance was formed in September 2021And the Within the framework of the seventy-sixth session of the United Nations General Assembly, and since then it has received the support of the governments of the United States, Canada, Spain and others.

Leave a Comment